Hessen is both a cultural region of Germany and the name of an individual German state/region.




  • The cultural region of Hessen includes both the State of Hesse and the area known as Rhenish Hesse (Rheinhessen) in the neighbouring state of Rhineland-Palatinate which includes the oldest city of the cultural region of Hesse, Mainz.
  • The State/Region of Hessen is smaller than the larger cultural region. It has an area of 21,110 km2  and just over six million inhabitants. The capital is Wiesbaden, largest city is Frankfurt am Main.

For all the information look up the Hessen official website : https://english.hessen.de/

Discover more about the AIR group